Were you born a bass player or was it decided for you?

Discussion in 'Bass Humor & Gig Stories [BG]' started by HouseOfCroutons, May 11, 2021.

1. HouseOfCroutons

HouseOfCroutons

Apr 26, 2020
    This isn't a joke but I just didn't know what subforum to post in.

I started playing bass when I was 9 because my older brother played electric guitar. He was my role model and I basically just did the secondary version of whatever he did. I started playing bass for the same reason I played as Luigi in Mario Party.

Today I was talking to another bass player, and it turns out that she also picked up the bass because it was the only instrument nobody in her family could play. Then I thought of my favorite bass player, Victor Wooten. He was the youngest brother in a family of musicians, and they needed a bass player.

My question is-- did any of y'all naturally gravitate towards the bass? Or did all bass players star under similar circumstances to this? I'm a serious player, and the bass is a big part of who I am! But as a music lover who has always been more interested in melody/harmony than rhythm/groove, it still surprises me that my instrument was decided for me by circumstance.

2. bholder

bholder Affable Sociopath Supporting Member

Sep 2, 2001
    Vestal, NY
    Received a gift from Sire* (see sig)
    I always naturally gravitated towards bass, regardless of the instrument family. So bass guitar, bass clarinet, bass oon (ok, that last is a stretch). :p

3. BLDavis

BLDavis Master of Snarks. Gold Supporting Member

May 21, 2009
    Ellenboro, NC
    I was born this way.
    B.

4. Born, I think. I bought an acoustic guitar in college (a pretty maroon Ovation, as I recall), and would try to play along to songs. Fairly soon I found myself just sitting in my dorm room plucking along to the bass lines. Traded it in toward a bass...

George Dennis, Fialka and backin82 like this.
  5. Eilif

Eilif Holding it down in K-Town. Supporting Member

Oct 1, 2001
    Chicago