Were you in the "school band"?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by DirtDog, May 18, 2003.

1. yes

43 vote(s)
  2. no

9 vote(s)
  3. my parents forced me to work on the family carrot farm - I had no time for bands.

2 vote(s)
  1. DirtDog

Jun 7, 2002
    The Deep North
    As the post says...a "school band" being the organized variety at grade school, high school, post-secondary, etc. with teacher supervision -with those cool uniforms and ubiquitous "band trips".

Myself, I never played in the school band, but played in bands at school. During my grade school and high school years (and beyond), I studied and played the scottish snare drum in police and army (bag)pipe bands. While my brethren were going on band exchange trips with parent/teacher supervision, I was doing road trips with cops and soldiers in the pipe bands - needless to say, my morality was corrupted at an early age.

2. Piezoman

Nov 29, 2002
    Bronx, New York
    Whats the joke hereon talkbass with the carrots?
  3. Bard2dbone

Aug 4, 2002
    Arlington TX
    I'll bet lots of us are ex-band nerds. If you discover music at an early age and can't afford private lessons then it's the only game in town.

I played trumpet in 6th grade,Baritone horn in 7th-9th, Then was moved to tuba till graduation. It's all a plot, you see. If you are a big guy and play brass the director just thinks "Tuba." I took up bass in 9th grade. In 10th grade the school brought back the Jazz Band program and I played bass in the jazz band till I graduated.
  4. Suburban_punk

May 13, 2003

Played the French Horn.
  5. Bard2dbone

Aug 4, 2002
    Arlington TX
    Do you mean the Freedom Horn?
  6. Killdar

Dec 16, 2002
    Portland Maine

heh, hmm....no, I don't play in any school band, never did, and don't think I ever will.
  7. d_rock211

d_rock211 Guest

Apr 29, 2002
    Kansas City