What’s songs are on your “forever” practice playlist

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by drumwagon, Jan 14, 2018.

1. drumwagon

drumwagon

Sep 5, 2016
    Hey all,

I’m a long-time drummer who recently picked up bass. As I drummer there are songs I keep in a playlist and continually practice. They could be categorized as easy to play, but very hard to play well. Here’s a very short drummer list:

· Babylon Sister: Purdie Shuffle
    · Pride and Joy: Texas Shuffle
    · Girl from Ipanema: Bossanova
    · Funky Drummer, Sissy Strut, 50 ways to leave you lover…….Etc.

The idea is they are all songs you may never master, but just playing them makes you a better player, and broadens what you bring to the music you play.

Does anyone have equivalent for bass? I’d be curious to see your list.

Thanks!

2. JRA

JRA my words = opinion Gold Supporting Member

sorry: i don't have that list for my bass playing...so much. i do tend to play some favorites (goes in phases) for awhile --- and then i move on to other tunes as i'm introduced to them or as i'm reminded of them.

but i get what you're talking about: keeping the bar high enough! :thumbsup:

3. fearceol

fearceol

Nov 14, 2006
    Ireland
    Here's one to get you started. ;)

4. BassAndReeds

BassAndReeds

Oct 7, 2016
    Marcus Miller: What is Hip

Groove Doctor likes this.
  5. Rush - Tom Sawyer, The Trees, Subdivisions, Marathon, Natural Science
    Tool - 46&2, The Pot, Sober, Stinkfist

I have many practice playlists, one for my main band, one for my sub band, a retired songs playlist (songs from previous bands or songs that were dropped), and a "fun" list (relevant to this thread). When it's practice time I sum them all together and hit shuffle. I skip a some here and there (mainly from the retired list) but whenever one of those listed about comes up I always play it.

6. The Tower by Bruce Dickinson is always in my practice rotation. It's also one of my all-time favorite songs.