1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

what 5 string should I get?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by glowinghamster4, Mar 8, 2010.

1. First of all, Ive been lurking around for a little while now, making posts here and there, but for those I havent run into yet, I'm Jamie.

Ok so basically ive been talking about getting a new bass for probably years, but because I'm just a poor college student its stayed down low on the list. However now that I finally was able to replace my car and some other things, I think I've finally reached that point in time. What I currently have is a 74 fender p (No I didnt buy it, I inherited it from my dad), and because I dont have the kind of budget needed to have an entire collection, Im looking to pick up something that simply is everything that the p bass isnt. Main points being 5 string, longer scale, active, you get the picture. Planning on dropping somewhere in the neighborhood of $1000, even though I dont have that money at the moment. Im currently saving, just given how insanely picky I am about even the smallest things (Ive spent 10 minutes sitting in my car figuring out what song Im in the mood to listen to. not exaggerating one bit.), add how much of my hard earned money im planning on spending, and pretty much if I want this thing before the end of the year I should start searching now.

I recently played a 5 string modulus that I absolutely LOVED but the price tag on it was $1800 :bawl:. Graphite neck, semi hollowbody, absolutely beautiful, but considering thats about what I bought my car for I dont think I can justify spending that much on a bass.