Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

What about the third finger?

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by NoNoise, Apr 13, 2005.

1. NoNoise

NoNoise Supporting Member

Mar 5, 2005
    New Jersey
    I apologize if this has been brought up before, but I didn't find anything with the search.

Anyway, I've been playing bass off and on for about 7 years (I started on guitar and have went back and forth for different bands). I always played mainly with my 1st and 3rd fingers and then using my 2nd and 4th for faster or more complex rhythms where I had to add them. I decided recently that I wanted to start learning a real technique (All of you TBers were the motivation ;) ). So, I bought Hal Leonard's three volume book on learning techniques. I haven't looked really far into, but right now all I see is that he wants me to use my 1st, 2nd, and 4th fingers and NOT my 3rd. Is this the way all instructors teach? Does anyone out there use their 3rd finger? :confused:

Thanks. :D

2. bassbo

bassbo

Jan 27, 2005
    I don't use my third on my DB, but on the bass guitar I do. Spread your hand with the thumb approximately opposit the middle finger. Play a full scale starting with the the middle finger on the a string c without moving your thumb. Spread it!!
    Steve