1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

What am I doing wrong with the setup?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by jamis, Jul 19, 2012.

1. jamis

jamis

Jan 5, 2007
    Worcester, MA USA
    Hi everyone,

Equipment: ESP B-255 5 String
    Combo Amp: PEavey TNT Tour 115 (the new one with the annoying lit-up logo in the front). :D

Newbie here. I have a Peavey TNT Tour 115. I am in a 5 piece Classic Rock / Blues band with 2 guitars, singer, & drummer. We are just starting out (established band with some new members such as me). When I bought the amp I was told it would be more than enough to play small bars, etc. I usually leave it around 4-5 and I hear it but the others (specifically drummer) are always asking me to turn it up. I'm always telling them to turn it down. Without plugs, I cannot hear and last night even with the plugs I thought it was loud.

When we rehearse we are pretty much in a circular pattern where we are all looking at one another. This mainly due to the size of the rehearsal area and layout.

I don't always hear myself and I've been telling them for awhile they need to turn down. The singer last night acknowledged that the lead was way too loud. So much so that even he couldn't hear the rythm guitarist to his right.

There was some bickering back and forth. Finally, I got annoyed and just cranked my amp all the way up to full on both volume and gain. They all looked at me and said that sounds great.

The next song I left it up on volume & gain but then all I heard was me. I stepped into the middle of the room and sure enough I also thought it was actually a pretty decent mix. A little too much bass for my taste but better than what it was.

So my questions are as follows:
    1. Is it bad to leave my amp all the way up to 8-9 all the time on both volume & gain?