Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

What am I hearing?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by Matthew Bryson, Apr 29, 2003.

1. Matthew Bryson

Matthew Bryson Guest

Jul 30, 2001
    I have had no experience recording my playing before yesterday. What I'm using is an old 70's era tape deck with 1/4" stereo mic inputs - I'm running a cable from the pre out on my Peavy combo to one of the mic inputs on the deck, and I'm playing back by running a cable from the decks head phone jack to the amps low gain input - it's pretty cool. I was under the impression that my slap tone left much to be desired, but I didn't know what I needed to do about it. By recording, I found that my slap play sounds a lot better than I realized - in fact it sounds like the recordings I've heard of other people's playing - and I always wondered why my slap play doesn't sound like that...maybe it does. So why am I not hearing it when I'm playing it? I think that it's probably because I'm not playing at very high volumes and I'm actually listening to my strings rather than what's coming out of the amp and a lot of the fret and string noise just doesn't come through the pick ups. - the other possibility is that the tape deck is coloring my tone somehow so that the recording actually does sound better than the live sound. Like I said, this recording stuff is all new to me. I guess the question is - is it safe to assume that what I hear on the tape is what I really sound like?

2. BFunk

BFunk Supporting Member

tape adds a natural compression to the recording. (That's why it is still popular for drums and final mixes.)

3. yeah buy a compressor, a lot of bassists around here wont even try to slap without one

4. Matthew Bryson

Matthew Bryson Guest

Jul 30, 2001