Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

What amp and speaker to get????????????

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by mherigstad, Mar 26, 2002.

1. mherigstad

mherigstad

Mar 26, 2002
    First off I would like to say I am new to the new board. I have been playing bass in my band for about 2 years now. I just recently purchased a Squire MB-5 5 string. I have an old (1983) Peavey TNT 115. It works well in my house but at gigs its pretty weak. Plus I think the speakers going out because it makes weird distortion type noises when turned up, espeacially with my 5th string. The only place we have ever played is at my high school. They have a peavey PA system with 2 15" Black Widows. I usually tap into that and then its pretty good. I want to get something louder so I don't have use the schools. I would like to get a head and serperate speaker(s). I really don't know how much power I need. I would like to spend around $500-$700. I not particular to one brand so any recommendations will be appreciated. Since I live in rural ND I really can't go anywhere to try out stuff. There is one music store near me and thats 50 miles away and doesn't carry much. Most the stuff I buy is off musiciansfriend.com

2. brianrost

brianrost Gold Supporting Member

Apr 26, 2000
    Boston, Taxachusetts
    You should consider buying used gear to get the most for your money. I'm going to assume you are playing rock music.

Keep your eyes open for a Galien Krueger 400RB head, used for about $250.

Then look for Peavey 410TX cabinets (4-10") or maybe some Carvin 4-10" cabs, again about $250.

Check eBay, Harmony Central, bassgear.com, etc. if there isn't a good used gear market where you live.

At that point sell your Peavey or keep it and have the speaker reconed (about $50).