1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

What amp to buy?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by MasonBass21, Jan 27, 2012.

1. MasonBass21

MasonBass21

Jan 19, 2012
    Okay as im a newbie, im wanting to by an amp but dont want to spend hundreds just yet, just a little practice amp to start with.
    whats a cheap reliable first amp to buy?
    ive borrowed a friends Fender amp and that sounds awesome. but i have to give that back in the next few days :crying:
    so what are your suggestions people :)
    I play a Maison TB-380 4 string

2. Stumbo

Stumbo Wherever you go, there you are. Supporting Member Commercial User

Feb 11, 2008
    the Cali Intergalctic Mind Space
    Song Surgeon slow downer software- full 4 hour demo
    What's your budget? Buying used will get you more for your money. Have you checked your local CL to see what's out there? If you find something in your budget, post it here for some opinions/advice.

Here's a previous TB thread on the topic to check out: First amp advice

Maybe think about getting a bass trainer to help you learn: Bass trainers/practice w/o amps

Using a metronome might be helpful as well: Metronome info

3. Jrutt

Jrutt

Dec 11, 2011
    I've been playing bass for several years now. I started playing on a squier p bass and a old peavey tko. I played it for about a year before I upgraded to an ampeg 410 cab and a ampeg b2re rack mount head. I would recommend a fender bassman or rumble amp to start. Then do some research on bass amps before you up grade. I now play on a fender rumble 350 2x10 combo (ported cabs rock! ). Good luck! \m/

4. MasonBass21

MasonBass21

Jan 19, 2012
    Budget is up to $130-$150 i know its not much but its a start, ive been looking in 2nd hand music joints and the like.