Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

What are some Famous Self-Taught Bassists?

Discussion in 'Bassists [BG]' started by Osama_Spears, Jun 14, 2003.

1. I just wanna know,'cause it seems everyone wants me to get one...

:oops:

2. Wrong Robot

Wrong Robot Guest

Apr 8, 2002
    Jaco was "formally" self-taught, as he put it.

But no bassist(or musician for that matter) is truly self taught, because of the breadth of information and ideas that they get simply from listening to music.

3. I figured I was gonna get some crap like that...

4. 20db pad

20db pad

Feb 11, 2003
    I been everywhere, man...
    None. At all.
    DOMO ORIGATO MR. ROBOTO is spot on about the self-taught thing. Nobody learns in a vacuum.

If self-taught is to mean no formal institutional training, tons of live experience, or long periods of study with a teacher, I'm stumped.

Billy Sheehan, Mark King, and Flea strike me as players who maybe never had serious "class" time but made it happen due to dedication and a long history of constant gigging.

Jaco didn't really have any formal education, but he deeply studied many players, worked hard, and had his compositional concepts bolstered by Charlie Brent on the Wayne Cochrane tour bus.

5. Wrong Robot

Wrong Robot Guest

Apr 8, 2002
    Arigato 20db pad-san

6. Woodchuck

Woodchuck

Apr 21, 2000
    Atlanta / Macon (sigh)
    Gallien Krueger for the last 12 years!
    Stu Zender

7. i read somewhere that Jaco learn a lot from gathering with a jazz guitarrist..

8. Albini_Fan

Albini_Fan Banned

Jan 26, 2003
    Beneath Below
    Les Claypool

9. geezer316

geezer316

Jan 26, 2003
    NEW HAVEN ,CT