Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

What are the "Names" of the effects sounds?

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by phlybass, Sep 22, 2004.

1. phlybass

phlybass

Dec 18, 2003
    Hi to all.

I'm a newbie to this side of the forum. I usually hang out over in the DB side. I've been playing mostly An EUB in small jazz settings but now need to do some slab playing in the local college big band on some funk and Steely Dan stuff.

I'm an old guy, 65, who still thinks, listens, and feels young. I played slab throughout the 50's in New Orleans doing Dixieland, the beginnings of R&B, and some modern and big band jazz, but I wasn't playing music during the time when all the different effects and sounds were brought out and didn't learn to identify a "Sound" with the name of the effect used. What do "crunch, overdrive, fuzz, etc." actually sound like on a recording or sound sample?

I could really use sort of a list of the name of a "Sound" and the actual recording or sound sample that goes with it. I've checked out the newbie links and couldn't find what I needed. There may be something out there on a web site somewhere, and definitely in the knowledge bank of the forum members.

I'll appreciate any help you all can offer.

Thanks in advance, Alex (aka phlybass)

2. rickbass

rickbass Supporting Member

Alex - I expect and hope you will find much respect on this side of the board..........you and others in their 60's "lead the way", IMO. If it weren't for people such as you, we'd all be dinking around making nonsense on synthesizers.

My suggestion is to get out to a local music store an try out a Tech 21 SansAmp Bass Driver. When you turn up the "Drive" control, you will get mucho bass distortion but not like a fuzz unit at all.