Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

What are these things that came with my strings?

Discussion in 'Strings [DB]' started by Chasarms, Feb 3, 2005.

1. Chasarms

Chasarms Casual Observer

May 24, 2001
    Bettendorf, IA USA
    I have very recently found myself in possession of a brand spanking new set of Super Sensitive Supremes. I am most eager to try them out, and I plan to string the bass up with them as soon as I get the chance.

I also just got a flat chromesteel G string so, I want to try it with my Obligatos before I remove them.

Anyway, included with Each string is a little felt washer. I have seen these before, but never one for every string. What goes into deciding whether or not to use these? I have never used them before.

Also included is a little piece of soft metal, 1" or so, with G string. It looks like a piece of tubing that has been ripped in two so as to create sort of a cupped ribbon. What's the deal with this?

2. AMJBASS

AMJBASS Supporting Member

Jan 8, 2002
    Ontario, Canada
    You thread the felt onto the strings so that it sits against the ball to prevent damage to the tailpiece. For some reason I have always liked the sound better with the felt on. The little piece of metal slips under the G on the bridge groove. I think it raises the strings slightly....I have no idea what it would do for tone. I doubt it is like a ring filter.

3. delbass

delbass

Sep 9, 2003
    Albany, NY
    Hi-
    The felt washers, I'm pretty sure, go around the ball end of the strings to prevent them from cutting up the tailpiece. There has been some discussion about them having a slight damping effect on the sound/feel.... or not. I saved the felt from my obligatos and put them on my spirocores. I think it may have some effect since the spiros aren't as bright as I remember them being, but it could be my bass. I don't know about the metal thing. Francois?