What are you thinking when walking?

Discussion in 'Music Theory [DB]' started by JKessell, Nov 29, 2017.

1. JKessell

JKessell

May 12, 2017
    This is probably a pretty basic question so apologies in advance.

I'm pretty new to walking bass lines but I do understand the theory of how to build them and can do so by following the lead sheet and basically thinking in a chord by chord sort of way.

For example if it's a ii-V-I I'm completely thinking Dm7-G7-CMaj7 at the moment.

I know this isn't how people really do it for obvious reasons (memorisation, transposing etc). As I understand it most people think in key centres and common chord progressions which I understand in theory but am finding it really difficult to think in this way as I'm playing so I was wondering what people are mainly thinking when playing?

Are the chord names (e.g Dm7) part of your thinking at all or is it entirely in key centres, numbers and learn't vocab?

66002 and Steve Freides like this.
  2. jlo95

jlo95

Dec 30, 2009
    This isn't a basic question, but instead can be seen as quite a complex philosophical/perceptual question.
    For the most part, outling the changes as clearly as possible is a great way to walk changes. As I'm sure you're aware, playing chord tones on strong beats (beats 1 and 3) and passing tones to connect is a great way to outline harmony well.
    If you're playing with a soloist, be sure to be listening to what they're playing and try and play complimentary lines.
    Transcribing the masters is a great way to learn as well. Ray Brown, Paul Chambers are great starting places. Might I recommend the Milt Jackson album Soul Route. Ray Brown plays bass and the fidelity is great, super clear and easy to transcribe. Dejection Blues is great for basic ii V language. Hope this is of some assistance.