Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

What are your favorite effects?

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by RAM, Feb 5, 2001.

1. RAM

RAM

May 10, 2000
    Chicago, IL
    I'm no novice to bass playing...I've been playing 18 years and have learned quite a bit about basses in that time, and to a lesser degree, learned a lot about amps as well. Now I'm adding effects to my arsenal and am having the absolute biggest headaches!

I started with the Bass Pod, which taught me a lot about what I like and what I don't...For example, I've never been a huge fan of Phase Shifters before. Never really knew much about 'em. But, I tried the one on the Bass Pod and liked it. I also never really saw myself as an envelope filter type guy, but in subtle settings, I think it can sound cool for ANY type of music! Plus, the chorus, flanger, and distortion...but I'm a bit more familiar with those.

So, now I'm in the never ending quest to find high quality effects without rackmounting them and without adding effects I find useless. Thus my question...what effects and brands of effects do you use? Do you have any problems that you've encountered with them?

My only other requirement is that these effects need to be noiseless. Otherwise, I'd rather run a dry signal...

BTW: the Bass Pod is now gone (see other thread by same name) and Sans Amp Bass Driver is my new "distortion" effect...not gettin' rid of that one;)

2. Nails

Nails

Jun 4, 2000
    Austin, Tejas