Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

What bass for my first?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by jstad, Oct 19, 2005.

1. jstad

jstad

Oct 19, 2005
    I have been searching around the forum looking at what kind of bass a beginner should buy. I am brand new to the bass guitar. I have wanted to get into the bass for a long time but my dad had made me try the guitar first (which I was not happy about, and go figure, I didnt play it. It was a Squier by the way). Now that I am in college and spending my own money I can finally get a bass :p

I see people on the forum suggest a bunch of different brands. I want to get a setup for <$200 (guitar + amp). Many people suggest Essex, but I am not sure which one to get. I am also looking at getting a used Yamaha RBX-250 (if I can get it for a good price). Which should I go for?

Also, what style of bass do I want to play modern rock? I prefer a black guitar but I can live with something else if I must ;) If you can give me specific model numbers if you suggest Essex, that would be great.

2. johans

johans G.U.I - Groovin' under influence

Oct 28, 2004
    the Bay Area, CA
    $200

check out Ibanez Jam pack

3. SX would be a good choice. Since your budget is so limited, you are going to have a hard time finding anything better. The SX is not a bad instrument by any means though. Very popular around here.

As far as SX instruments you should look at, here is the Jazz and here is the Precision. Pick which ever one you like best. These are the two most popular bass designs and either one would work great. Both instruments are used extensively in rock.