What bass made you go passive (or mostly passive) after years of using active eq?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by songwriter21, Oct 7, 2016.

Tags:
  1. songwriter21

songwriter21 I have an obsession for wood. The musical kind. Supporting Member

Jul 31, 2005
    Sponsored by Hipshot
    So, since I started playing back in '95, I've always been a fan of having on-board eq, just for more flexibility. My newest bass (NJBD (New Japanese Bass Day)--Bacchus WOODLINE DX5-AC/E-BGP), though, sounds so good without any eq at all, that I only use the preamp when I slap, which is maybe 10% of my band's show. Granted, the slap eq sounds unreal, but the finger tone opens up and growls noticeably more without the darker tone (compression?) of the eq, and our sound guy says that every note is clear and defined going passive. I can even get close to a Spector "Haz Lab" sound, and I have single-coils now...whaaaa?? It's pretty cool knowing that I hardly use the battery, too.

What bass changed your mind to go passive?

2. Hamish MacCleod

Hamish MacCleod Supporting Member

Jul 13, 2014
    South America
    It wasn't a bass but a pickup: Lace Alumatone straight to jack, no tone or volume controls, no onboard pre.
    H

3. Nunovsky

Nunovsky

Sep 4, 2004
    Portugal
    Yamaha BB1024X. It's passive but the pickups are really punchy and even louder than my Aria Pro II active IGB-805.

4. Had a battery die live once. I still have an active bass that I gig with but I have a lot more passives now.

5. Gougedeye

Gougedeye Supporting Member

Apr 1, 2008
    Central Washington
    No such bass exists, as far as I know...

cthomas5200 and songwriter21 like this.
  6. songwriter21

Jul 31, 2005
    Sponsored by Hipshot
    I thought the same thing, man. I would see "passive", and think "Ugh, next". Then I got my current bass....

7. inanimate_carb

inanimate_carb

Aug 11, 2016