1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

What bass model do you find to have the best playability/ease of play, and great tone?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Bunky, Dec 7, 2019.

1. Bunky

Bunky

Jul 12, 2011
    I’m a guitarist and I’d consider a a top of the line Ibanez Satriani model to be the guitar equivalent of what I’m looking for in a bass. Great sound and so so easy to play and sound musical on. (Only thing I didn’t like about those were the Floyd rose.)

elkkid2 and zon6c-f like this.
  2. I have went round the houses and for me anyway, I have landed back where I began.. P bass.

3. wraub

wraub

Apr 9, 2004
    ennui, az
    previated devert
    My current addiction is a 2017 Squier Affinity P Bass (PJ). Really.
    It sounds unbelievably good, plays like a dream, and weighs less than 8.5 lbs.
    It's got a great neck, too, imo.
    It gets played a lot...

Also, it is not my only P bass. :D

Last edited: Dec 7, 2019
  4. gebass6

gebass6 We're not all trying to play the same music.

May 3, 2009
    N.E Illinois
    We can't put on your preferences and tell you what only you can determine for yourself.
    Go to music stores and test basses.

jackn1202, amper, GregC and 19 others like this.
  5. dmt

dmt

Apr 19, 2003
    Orbiting Sol
    Well, I wouldn’t call it the bass equivalent of an Ibanez Satriani guitar, so it probably won’t apply to you, but my first thought on reading your thread title was my MIJ Fender Mustang reissue (best playability/ease of play) but it’s not quite my best tone. My best tone was from my MIM Fender Precision bass back when it had a Fender Original Precision Bass pickup in it (I mention the pickup because it’s not the pickup that came with the bass [same type of pickup, but a different model], and I actually have it in another bass at the moment).