1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

What bass should I buy?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by jm3, Apr 12, 2009.

1. jm3

jm3

Apr 12, 2009
    Hi, I'm a beginner bass player and I'm trying to buy a used bass. I'm considering a Kramer Baretta 422s, a Stuart Spector ns-94, or possibly a Peavey foundation or patriot on ebay if I can find one for low enough. I'm wary of buying online since I can't try out the bass. I have been able to play the Kramer and the Spector, but I'm not quite sure what to look for in a bass. The Kramer is cheaper than the Spector.

The Spector is missing the saddle for the G string, does anyone know where I could get a replacement part?

Any suggestions for which bass to get? Or what a reasonable price would be (used)?:confused:

2. Snakeman1066

Snakeman1066 Supporting Member

Sep 17, 2007
    Central Valley
    The most important thing i can relate to you about buying a bass......is that it is a very personal experience...

I suggest that you go to your nearest music store and play everything they have in stock......ths will give you an idea of what each of them sounds and feels like...

then i suggest that you buy the bass that feels and sounds the best to you.

I have played some $3,000.00 dollar basses that i just flat out could not stand feel or tone wise, and I have played some $100.00 dollar garage sale/pawn shop specials that absolutely rocked....

I wouldn't buy off the internet unless i had a firm grasp of what each of these models sounds or feels like...