What books do you guys use/recommend?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by waxlabltabler, Sep 12, 2002.

1. waxlabltabler

Aug 24, 2002
    You know, instructional books, scales, modes anything bass related. What are the best books out there?
  2. WillPlay4Food

WillPlay4Food Now With More Metal! Staff Member Supporting Member

Apr 9, 2002
    Orbiting HQ
    You might want to do a search. This topic has been covered a zillion times.
  3. Andrew Jones

Andrew Jones Banned

Feb 28, 2001
    Northampton Mass
    Fingerboard Harmony for bass by Garry Willis

Great Book! I studied with willis 10 years ago and I payed him alot more than 17 bucks for the same exact very practical ,clear lessons..

4. Jazz Ad

Jazz Ad Mi la ré sol Gold Supporting Member Supporting Member

I still dig Ray Brown's Bass Method.

It's tough and raw, not fancy, it doesn't come with a CD, you don't get tablatures, but each of those exercises opens for months of work and experimentations.

edit : it was written for upright, but it's great for horiz:)ntal players too.
  5. BassAxe

Jul 22, 2002
    Culpeper, VA
    I'm currently working my way through The Chordal Approach, Volume 1 A Study in the Development of Chordal Playing for Four String Electric Bass, by Michael T. Dimin.

Michael T. Dimin
    P. O. Box 49
    Averill Park, Ny 12018

There is a lot of chordal mumbo-jumbo to wade through. I guess the terminology is explained elsewheres, but he tabs his examples which makes it easier to follow and learn. It's mostly upper scale jazz/blues music, but it can teach you quite a bit and can be applied to other styles.

It's great info for those who want to break out of the typical lead-guitar/singer-imposed role of "supportive" bass player.
  6. melvin

Apr 28, 2001
    The Jazz Theory Book and Jaco Pastorius Modern bass guitar. Not to mention the books I have for my orchestra class (dont know what theyre called)
  7. SuperDuck

Sep 26, 2000