1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

What can be done with a Music Degree?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by bareass, Jan 17, 2012.

1. title edited:

hey all,

a while back i turned down a scholarship to wayne state's jazz performance program. I decided instead to enter ino the technical field, and have been regretting it.

I'm now 24 years old, and looking for a career change.

How many of you have your degree in music? what do you do now? if you could go back, would you still take the music degree?

as for my background, i have a diploma as an elctrical technician, and another as a mechanical technologist.

thank you very much!

2. any help would be great guys!

3. fenderhutz

fenderhutz Supporting Member

Jan 28, 2007
    Harpers Ferry WV
    I will let you know when my wife's $50,000 fine art degree pays off. :rollno:

My guess is teach, or just use the fact to you have a degree to get into some government work. That usually don't care about what you have a degree in just you have a degree. At least the branch I work for anyway.

Moral: don't major in a hobby you like unless you plan on being a teacher in said hobby.

4. jordak

jordak

Apr 7, 2011
    Queens, NY
    BERKLEE | BERKLEE | Careers in Music there's actually some cool things. It isn't the degree that allows you to do most of these jobs, but the knowledge you will have aquired in getting a music degree. Each of the links on this page has several more specific jobs in that field.

5. Liam Wald

Liam Wald Supporting Member

May 17, 2011
    California Coast
    Used to be that you could teach.
    But now that schools have almost all cut the music budgets about the only thing that you can do is hang it on the wall to remind yourself why you are mailing student loan checks every month.

6. Goatee220