1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

What can you do or have done with a degree in music?

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by Jean Rodriguez, Nov 25, 2016.

1. I graduated high school two years ago (it's going to be three in May of next year) and my original plan was to go on to Berklee College of Music to study music because I wanted to be a session player. I auditioned but didn't get accepted (I was playing guitar and guitar players are a dime a dozen) and decided to brush up my skills on a school that's associated with Berklee here in Puerto Rico. After studying there for two semesters, I decided that I didn't want to be a professional musician and what mainly influenced the decision was all the hard work that I saw myself and other colleagues put ourselves through only to come out with less than adequate pay.

I decided to go college here in Puerto Rico to study psychology. I got into the college, but through the music department because my grades weren't good enough for the psychology department. The plan is to get my GPA up in the next year or two in order to be able to transfer over to my desired faculty. As the semester progressed (it ends next week, btw), I decided to give music a second chance because it is something that I truly love and enjoy doing. My one concern is what to do after my four in college are up.

I have never been keen on teaching and feel that it is not an adequate use of my practice time, years of studying music or money spent on college which already is expensive enough (you may flame me for this or tell me that I'm wrong at your disposal), but it seems like it is the most stable line of employment for a musician as far as salaries go.