1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

What choices did they have 40 years ago?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Skel, Mar 22, 2006.

1. Skel

Skel

Jun 19, 2005
    Boulder, Colorado
    If you went back in time 40 years to 1966 and you walked into a big music store, what choices would there have been for basses? I assume you could get a Fender Precision, Jazz, Mustang, Jaguar? A few Gibson models. The Rickenbacker.

Did you really have about 5 or 6 choices?, and probably nobody even considered that the instrument was made anyplace other than the USA.

Skel

2. That's about when I started playing. There was no Fender Jaguar Bass until now. Fender had the P-Bass and Jazz Bass. Sometime in that general timeframe, the Mustang, Telecaster and Musicmaster basses made their appearance. Gibson had the EB-0, the EB-2 and the EB-3 as well as the Thunderbird. Gretsch had a hollow (or semi hollow) body bass. Epiphone made their version of the EB-2. Mosrite had the "Ventures Model." The Ampeg basses were available sometime in that general timeframe. Hofner, Harmony and Hagstrom basses were available. Danelectro made basses under their name as well as (Sears) Silvertone. National/Supro/Valco marketed basses under their name as well as (Wards) Airline. Kay sold a lot of basses then. There were countless cheap Japanese basses such as Kent, Teisco, etc. and cheap European oddities like Egmond floating around. There was no shortage of basses back in the day. This is just off the top of my head.

3. The way I've heard it, there were plenty of basses out there (back in the day) but there were very few inexpensive ones that were of any quality.

If you look at today's SX's, the OLP's, the Squiers, plus the entry-level Yamaha's and Ibanezes, anything at that price point (in 1966 dollars) was unplayable or would break in about 5 minutes.