1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

What difference does the paint job make?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by b4nny, Sep 11, 2008.

1. b4nny

b4nny

Aug 24, 2008
    Bellevue, WA, USA
    I'm a beginner/intermediate bassist and I'm going to be buying a new bass soon. I've been looking through many used jazz basses, as well as new ones, and I feel a little concerned. I found an amazing deal on a standard jazz (mexican I assume), but the color isn't my favorite. I really like sunburst and naturals, but it's dark blue. Originally my pick for a new bass was the Squier Vintage Modified Jazz, which looks quite handsome in my eyes.

Will things go better if I get the [slightly] higher-quality instrument that I think looks decent, or the good-quality instrument that looks purdy? Have you ever found yourself disliking an instrument that sounds really great only based on the "meh" color choice?

2. With the bass I play now... it was wait maybe 6 months for them to get one in the finish I liked, or get the one I play now. I absolutely hated the color of the one I have now... I thought it looked like cigarette burns in old banana....

Now I am in love with the color and still get "Wows!" every time I pull it out of the case.

It grows on you... or it did for me... it is really down to your priorities. Sound, quality, playability, and aesthetics. Where do they all fit in for you.

3. dsDodgers

dsDodgers Banned

Sep 7, 2008
    sunny so cal
    yea i turned down a g&l l2000 trib with a bunch of extras for $300 cause it was a natural finish :crying: now there $600+:crying::crying:
    anyways IMHO squier VM are better than mexican fenders
    i played the VM jazz fretless in jaco burst and it was heavenly, played a MIM fretless, didnt do much for me

but thats me

4. b4nny

b4nny

Aug 24, 2008
    Bellevue, WA, USA