Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

What do i do now?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by Gsxtasy99, Mar 11, 2004.

1. Gsxtasy99

Gsxtasy99

Jul 10, 2003
    Boston, MA
    I'm in my second semester at Berklee, and just got my results back from my audtion to get into the performance major. I got in, but i got pretty crappy ratings. This puts me in lousy ensembles, and limits what labs i can take. I can audition again for better ratings, but i will have to wait untill midterms next semester.

This is very upsetting. I love music, and love to play my bass, but is this the school's way of telling me to pack my bags? I'm pretty good, but no matter what i do for my audtions i can't please them. I realize now playing a chord solo probably wasn't wise, but i don't think i did as poorly as they said.

That said, mabey i shouldn't go into performance. I dunno, i like writing and compositon, and have written some very nice stuff, i just don't know if i could go into that as a major b/c i lack paino or guitar skills.

any advice would be apreciated, i'm not sure if i should stick to my guns and go with performance, or try some kind of writing/comp major

2. BustinJustin

BustinJustin banned

Sep 12, 2003
    NYC, LI too
    I spent some time at Berklee and had some bad experiences also, ended up leaving shortly after 1yr.

Understand that Berklee is not the end all in the music world. Follow your heart, put your 100% in. In the end you did your best.

I will quote flea "your better off regretting something you did then something you didn't do".

I say keep to it, politics aside, play for the love playing, learn for the love of learning.

3. Coutts_is_god

Coutts_is_god Guest

Dec 29, 2003
    Windsor, Ont, Canada
    Nuts to them they don't like you Slash them with a bass solo and tell them to p!$$ off!

4. Boplicity

Boplicity Supporting Member