What do I look for in a power amp???

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Gintaras, Oct 29, 2005.

1. Gintaras

Gintaras Supporting Member

Dec 11, 2004
    Kent Island, Md.
    this is a new area for me and looking for some suggestions. I am a midlife newbie looking to upgrade my amp. Hartke B90 does not cut it at the local jams with 2 or 3 guitarists. I keep hearing about the Sansamp RBI and BBE Bmax preamps. Thinking about picking one up but know little about which is the proper power amp. I did see one bassist at a show who was using QSC's but and he sounded great.

Are power amps basically generic in use? When a power amp is called a DJ amp, is it really for that purpose?

I really wanted to get a stereo amp so that I could use one of 1 or 2-4 ohm cabinets depending on the situation. Please comment if that makes sense or NOT...

Thanks..Gus :help:
  2. Look for power, price, weight. Other than that, they're relatively generic. Some stereo amps bridge, turning them into one big mono amp perfect for mono application like bass. Make sure the stereo channels are rated to go down to 2 ohms so that the bridge mode min load would be 4 ohms, that way you can use 2 8 ohm cabs together (making 4 ohm load).

3. Gintaras

Gintaras Supporting Member

Dec 11, 2004
    Kent Island, Md.
    That was a great explanation in 3 sentences!!! I did not know that bridging the stereo channels was the same as hooking up 2 cabinets. Thanks for the clarification and giving me enough info to start looking. :hyper:
  4. LiquidMidnight

Dec 25, 2000
    Power amps can be used to drive guitar/bass rigs and PA gear, so obviously, you can use them in DJ applications. But I would stay away from the power amps on ebay which are advertised as "DJ Amps", because they are cheap junk.

Some reputable power amp companies are

And I've yet to hear any compliants about the Beheringer amps.
  5. I'm using the new 1400 watt behringer, and the only complaint I have is it's ridiculously heavy.