1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

What do I need and how should I use my gear for home recording???

Discussion in 'Recording Gear and Equipment [BG]' started by andbaggio, Jun 18, 2017.

1. andbaggio

andbaggio

Dec 16, 2011
    Treviso, Italy
    Hello everyone, I'm not an expert, but I would love to record myself at home and putting down ideas that come to mind while practicing.

The gear I have available is: a PC, Cubase, a Focusrite Scarlett 2i2, a compressor pedal, a distorsion pedal, a tuner pedal, a chorus pedal, a GK amp, an Ampeg cab and of course my fender jazz bass.

I do have software like Guitar Rig and Amplitube and software for creating drum tracks like Addictive Drums and EZDrummer.

What am I missing? Do I need something else? And how should I use my gear for a good recording? Just a note, I can't bring my ampeg cab into my house because it's heavy and big. It's a 6x10 and I live on the first floor and the cab is in the garage underground. So leave the cab out of the question.

Please give me some advice on getting a good tone. Right now I practice plugging the bass directly into the scarlett 2i2 and using Amplitube on a track on Cubase. Nothing else. But I don't really love the tone. Please give me some advice. Thanks

2. Mushroo

Mushroo Supporting Member

Apr 2, 2007
    Massachusetts, USA
    Keep practicing until you like the sound of your bass direct! This is how engineers have recorded my bass 99% of the time. Practice articulation, muting, dynamics, etc. and listen to isolated bass tracks from master players for inspiration.

Are you listening back to your bass solo, or in the mix with the vocals and other instruments? In my experience, it is normal to dislike the sound of the bass soloed. How it sounds in the mix is what matter, ultimately.

3. joeaba

joeaba

Aug 20, 2015
    Georgia