Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

What do I need to do before...

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by Davidoc, Oct 25, 2000.


  1. I have a eadg standard four-string, and I don't use that g-string at all, but I would love a b-string.

    What would I need to do before setting it up with a new set of strings?
     
  2. Nate Dawg

    Nate Dawg

    Apr 8, 2000
    Denver, CO
    I just want to clarify...

    So you want to string your bass BEAD?
     
  3. oh, sorry, fergot to mention it... yes, bead
     
  4. Deynn

    Deynn Moderator Emeritus

    Aug 9, 2000
    Iowa
    Are you wanting to put BEAD strings on it...or just tune it down?
     
  5. Put BEAD strings on it
     
  6. Deynn

    Deynn Moderator Emeritus

    Aug 9, 2000
    Iowa
    You may have to put a new nut on to accommodate the larger string...and do a set-up after installing the strings. That should be about it...:)
     
  7. what do you mean by do a set-up?

    Would I have to adjust the truss-rod?
     
  8. Deynn

    Deynn Moderator Emeritus

    Aug 9, 2000
    Iowa
    Yeah..adjust the truss rod and the string height. Also, you might be able to use the nut you have for the BEAD tuning...but have to replace it, if you ever go back to EADG.
     
  9. What truss rod adjustments would I need to make? How would I know how much?
    Should I raise or lower the strings?

    How do I know when the settings are optimized?

    I really appreciate the help.
     
  10. Deynn

    Deynn Moderator Emeritus

    Aug 9, 2000
    Iowa
    String height is very subjective, but you DO want them high enough, so that they do not buzz, or rattle agaisnt the fretboard.
    If you are really not sure about setting up your bass, you may want to have it done by a tech guy at the music store.
    But it really isn't all that difficult.....:)
     
  11. Why do you need to raise the bridge?
     
  12. Deynn

    Deynn Moderator Emeritus

    Aug 9, 2000
    Iowa
    No...NOT the bridge :)....the strings...by adjusting the bridge saddles.
     
  13. Oh I phrased it wrong. I meant why do you have to adjust the bridge to accomidate for the new type of strings?
     
  14. Deynn

    Deynn Moderator Emeritus

    Aug 9, 2000
    Iowa
    You may not have to.....I would just put the strings on....
    and then go from there. Don't worry...you're not going to hurt anything...:)
     
  15. Ok Thank you. I'll take your advice