Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

What do you do on bass?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by Komakino, Mar 27, 2001.

1. This will seem like a stupid question (I bet this line gets quoted now!) but what do you lot actually DO on your bass?

I've only started playing recently, and besides learning the basslines to some favourite songs and jamming a little I don't actually DO much with it....so what I'm asking is what you do with yours in the way of practice, playing, writing tunes.

Just out of interest and to give me other avenues to explore!

2. CrawlingEye

CrawlingEye Member

Mar 20, 2001
    Easton, Pennsylvania
    I learn some songs I like. I'm still a student... Even though I've been taking for over 3 years (4 in september)

I write a few songs, generally ska type stuff, some punk. (I like to mix the two of them)

I'm all about jammin' with friends. Although I haven't in the longest time...

Most of all, I like having my bass teacher tell me "You're playing that 4x faster than they are", when the song's fast to begin with.

3. BassGurl42

BassGurl42

Oct 8, 2000
    Muskegon, MI
    I put my bass right next to my computer chair in my room. Whenever I play like playin, I pick it up and play it.

Jammin with friends is the best thing though. Sittin in the basement with my friends and a few instruments is the best thing.

I write a few rock basslines, and I'm workin on bein able to play all of 3 Doors Down's stuff.

Just play when you feel like it, man. Thats what ya do.

4. To get the most out of your instrument, and to learn the music process, you need to be playing in a band situation. This teaches you harmony, rhythm, rhythm section interaction, and how to pull chicks! Bands are always looking for bass players. You will have a lot of fun, a bit of grief, and maybe make some money.

5. neptoon

neptoon

Jul 25, 2000