Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

What do you do to get out of a funk?

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by canopener, Mar 18, 2004.

1. canopener

canopener

Sep 15, 2003
    Isle of Lucy
    ...and I don't mean the good kind...

I've been an undergrad since the summer of '99. Each semester, I follow the same pattern. Start off strong, then gradually become dis-interested in going to class, doing homework, etc. I can't seem to drop those old habits long enough. I got by ok through the intro levels and gen-eds just fine, but BSing doesn't cut it in 400 level classes. I'm studying geography, and I find the subject very stimulating; my problems aren't with the material, it's going to class and doing homework that I just can't seem to get myself up for. A few months ago, I saw a doctor, thinking maybe I had adult ADD. I was on strattera for a while, but it really wasn't making too much of a difference. So, I don't know, it's mid-semester, I could be doing a lot better in class, and I've come too far to drop out, and the usual would you rather be flipping burgers for the rest of your life (?) routine is getting old. I'm thinking diet and exercise might help somewhat, but what do you guys do to get out of a rut? I'm not a party guy, and I really don't have too many distractions (actually, anything is a distraction, or an excuse to not do work if I want it to be...) and I know I have the potential, but I just can't seem to get the most out of my brain...
    Anyway, thanks, guys.

2. Tom Crofts

Tom Crofts

Mar 15, 2001