1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

What do you do when nobody want's to play with you anymore?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by joelb79, Jul 8, 2016.

Tags:
  1. joelb79

joelb79

Mar 22, 2006
    Lansing, Michigan
    I've been a professional musician for over 5 years. Earned a living for my family during the mortgage crisis playing bass. I loved it. I made so many contacts. I was playing out every weekend, sometimes with other bands that I have never gigged with as a fill in, no practice. I gathered a bunch of industry recommendations, gathered countless fans (so it seemed) and was able to fill my week playing bass. JUST PLAYING!

Over the years, I suffered from an unknown silent disease that wreaked havoc in my life. Hashimoto's Thyroiditis. The worst symptoms I have had have been the psychological ones, and this has caused people to shun me publically. I am no longer allowed to play on stage at a gig that I had every week for the last 5 years; I mean I show up to play and I'm told to leave. I've lost countless friends. I've lost all my contacts. I've actually lost interest in playing bass, even throughout treatment. Not to mention the weight loss inability, I am fat and stuck fat and I have never been able to exercise. I face heart disease, type 1 diabetes and other autoimmune diseases because of this in life.