1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

What Do You Do When The Drummer Sucks?

Discussion in 'Bass Humor & Gig Stories [BG]' started by StyleOverShow, Sep 27, 2008.

1. StyleOverShow

StyleOverShow Still Playing After All These Years Gold Supporting Member

May 3, 2008
    Hillsdale, Portland
    Did a gig last night, straight ahead jazz, with a group that I've been working with for three years and the drummer sucked. He was so bad that I couldn't actually tell where 'his' downbeat was on several tunes. The band doesn't really have a regular percussionist but for the last six months we've had a really amazing, imaginative, and 'follow the leader' player.

To their credit the keyboard and the saxophonist clung to me for dear 'rhythmic' life, but I was severely limited in what I could do. I had to hold the center and in some ways it was very illuminating. Keep it tight on the dots playing is something that I've been working on (trying to minimize - pocket playing).

I knew that this sucky drummer was going to be there and the next time I think that I'll first ask them to get another player, and if that isn't possible then decline the gig.

It may jeopardize my job but what the heck.

2. I remember my two best friends back in the 80s being amazed that I could just play Jazz type bass lines naturally...Jazz drumming is a true art and if you don't have it then you just don't.

3. Fetusyolk

Fetusyolk

Aug 7, 2008
    Oh god, i've played multiple times with a drummer who seemingly did not know anything about drums b ut had been playing for years. His technique consisted of hitting every tom/ cymbol as much as possible in no beat or order. He would also use his bass drum and hi-hat nonstop. It kinda sounded like this

''DPDPDPDPDDDDFDFHSDHFPDPDFPPDFPDFP'