Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

What do you do with your thumb behind the neck?

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Tombo, Apr 2, 2004.

1. Tombo

Tombo Guest

Mar 7, 2004
    New York, USA
    I've been playing for a little over four years, and I have been taking lessons since I started. Now maybe its because they don't know how to play, maybe its actually a way of playing, but I noticed that alot of kids (not really adults) place their thumb behind the neck and wrap it over the E string. Is that right? It sure looks wrong to me. I was taught to keep the thumb stiff, and against the neck. But then I have heard some bassist actually play some notes using their thumb. But I think that is kinda wrong. Feel free to correct me if you want to.

2. I have a bad habit of letting my thumb creep over the edge of the neck, but it's a lot more efficient and comfortable most times to have your thumb contacting the neck in the middle of the non-fretboard side. As for wrapping it over the E string... well, that just seems unweildy and painful to me.

3. SuperDuck

SuperDuck

Sep 26, 2000
    Wisconsin
    I think that it's partly due to the fact that most of these "kids" are slinging their bass around their knees and attempting to play it. Stretch out your strap as far as it will go, and it's hard _not_ to wrap your thumb all the way around.

The way I play it though, that's nearly impossible. Then again, if I don't shave, I scratch the upper horn of my bass.

4. mybluespector

mybluespector

Mar 22, 2004
    Joplin, Mo
    I play thumb war with my other personality! :help:

I agree that alot of popular players do not hold there bass correctly. I think that has alot to do with it! Get that puppy up

5. Groove_Master

Groove_Master Guest

Feb 29, 2004
    Turkey