1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

What do you know about boats?

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by NKUSigEp, Aug 1, 2007.

1. NKUSigEp

NKUSigEp

Jun 6, 2006
    Bright, IN
    I have a chance to buy a 19 ft. Starcraft boat with a 90 HP Mercury engine on it for what seems like a pretty good price.

I'm rather new to the boat-world and have only had experience with my dad's Ranger bass boat. So are Starcrafts decent boats? And what about the motor? Any help y'all can give me is greatly appreciated!

AD

2. Jiggybass

Jiggybass

Nov 15, 2005
    Sudbury, Canada
    That sounds pretty good. Starcraft are pretty decent, and I have never had a Mercury motor ever quit on me, so if the price is right...

Edit: What year?

3. Spector_Ray

Spector_Ray

Aug 8, 2004
    Texas
    I know the happiest day of your life is when you buy a boat.

The second happiest day is when you sell it!:D

4. My neighbor always said it's far better to know somebody with a boat than to have one yourself.

He also said BOAT stands for Bust Out Another Thousand!!!

5. Geoff St. Germaine

Geoff St. Germaine Commercial User

It would be helpful to know the models of the boat and motor. It's would also be good to know how many hours are on the motor.

We used a 17' Starcraft for fishing when I was a kid. My dad got rid of that boat a while ago and is picking up a Seaswirl 2602 this fall. Yeah, boats are a lot of fun. :D

6. I'd be really nice to Dad and borrow the Ranger!! Great boats!!! The thing with owning boats is you MUST be able to do mantenance and repairs yourself, that includes the trailer. Paying to have it done is what costs big bucks.

7. NKUSigEp

NKUSigEp

Jun 6, 2006
    Bright, IN