What do you know about Bulgarian Basses?

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by ZorkBogg, Nov 4, 2004.

1. ZorkBogg

Nov 4, 2004
    Has anyone here any experience with the Bulgarian basses that Bob Gollihur is selling? I am a student looking for a good quality bass that will serve me well for years to come. Is this a good choice?
  2. ZorkBogg

Nov 4, 2004
    I was really hoping to get some advice here. I am a parent who is trying to get a bass for my son who is a Jr High student. I don't want to get ripped off by buying a craptastic bass. I don't really know what to look for. The Bulgarian Basses look good, but I was hoping for an review from someone who has one, or has seen one. Are they too good to be true?

I am not looking for the worlds finest bass, I just want to know if it is worth the wait and the cost.
  3. Bruce Lindfield

Bruce Lindfield Unprofessional TalkBass Contributor Gold Supporting Member

Did you follow Steve's link?

That seems to be the only case of a TB'er actually owning one. Bob Gollihur gives a very comprehensive review on his website and includes many pictures and sound samples.

But I can't remember anybody else here saying that they owned one or had any experience? Anyway - time passes very slowly on the DB side ....

[Tumbleweed blows across....]

4. ZorkBogg

Nov 4, 2004
    Yepper, I did follow the link and I have looked at Bob's website. Bob says it is real nice.

I just don't know what I can believe. I see the Englehardts advertised, USA made, good price, evolved from the beloved KAY. My son's teacher says they are junk. Did they use to be and now they are good? Is it just that they need to be properly set? I have no idea.

I can buy a used school bass for $1200 , an Englehardt for $1300 or one of Bob's for $2250. What would you do as a parent of a teenage boy?