What do you like in a distortion/od?

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by Tristan, Feb 12, 2005.

1. Tristan

Jan 28, 2001
    Ottawa, Canada
    Hello bass players!

I am a 4th year electrical engineering student and I am doing my final design project about bass overdrive and distortion. I am going to clip bass signals using a variety of methods (diode,bjt,mosfet,jfet,etc)... and analyze the result in time and frequency domains.

I would really like to know what bassists look for in an overdrive/dist. I am a bassist myself, and I know what I like, but I want more opinions.

The dream is to make something quality, simple and custom available for a reasonable price, but for now I have to settle with research. FILL ME IN!
  2. DougP

Sep 4, 2001
    after a few months with my EBS MultiDrive (Thanks JammaDave) i really, really like the way that it responds to input. if i crank the gain on it all the way up and put it in Tube Sim mode, and i barely touch the string then i get this huge, deep, soft tone with barely any fuzziness. i can control the dynamics of the overdrive just by playing harder.

i also like the fact that i dont lose bottom end at all, in fact i sort of get more with the saturation.

i bought a SansAmp GT2 to play guitar through, i tried it on bass and wasnt terribly impressed. i suppose i am just spoiled to the MultiDrive.
  3. BassGod

Jan 21, 2004
    I recently bought the Marshall Guv'nor II, and was very impressed. So I guess I like a full on, thick distortion, but that isn't buzzy or terribly harsh. Also, a built in noise gate would be helpful, (like the one in the Ibanez Smash Box) and it's something the Guv'nor lacks.

Graeme :bassist:
  4. i like the quoted "fart in a can" boss ODB-3 overdrive. that's what bass distortion should solund like IMO
  5. Lockout

Dec 24, 2002
    My ideal overdrive box would be something that adds the characteristic overdrive growl and thickness to the signal without making the top end hairy and distorted.