What do you mean my Grandma's old tape deck is outdated?

Discussion in 'Recording Gear and Equipment [BG]' started by Papazita, Feb 26, 2010.

1. Papazita

Papazita

Jun 27, 2008
    Ohio
    Alright, help out a total recording noob here.

As stated in the title, my experience with recording technology is severely limited and outdated. I'm not looking for anything major; I just want something I can sit with and record, tweak and edit whatever ideas come along. Maybe something portable that I can take to practices, jam sessions, and the like. With a hefty tax refund coming, I've got money to burn as well (although I really don't want to spend a fortune!).

So far, the only piece of gear that is definitely on my buy list is a Boss GT-10B effects unit, which has a USB out for data and audio transfer. Not sure how well this will work for recording, or if I need anything else (software, etc).

What else could/should I be considering?
    A multitrack portastudio, such as this Tascam unit:
    http://pro-audio.musiciansfriend.com/product/Tascam-DP02-Digital-Portastudio?sku=241788?
    What else would I absolutely need to go with it?

I also noticed this cool-looking specialized recording netbook:
    http://pro-audio.musiciansfriend.com/product/Indamixx-Indamixx-Laptop-MKII?sku=582390
    which will save me from having to bog down my home computer with software; plus...it's portable!
    I like the price on this thing, first of all. I also like the overall features and flexability vs a portastudio. I don't like that you need an external CD drive for burning...not sure if I could connect it to my home computer and its drive or not.
    Again...what else is a necessity to go with it?

Or... am I over-thinking this, and there's some $100 magic box that will do everything I want and need?

Your thoughts?

2. You're not overthinking it: however, you aren't thinking right.