Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

what do you think about the OLP Spector copies

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by rx jr., Jul 23, 2004.

1. rx jr.

rx jr.

May 10, 2004
    Brooklyn
    I love the feelings on these basses. they're cheap (around $350?) and the neck and the body feels really comfortable. anybody have any experiences with these basses? I'm looking forward to getting my first bass and I still haven't made up my mind whther I should get a widely spaced 5 or a 4. I play lots of metal, rock, and fingerstyle, and I like to fool around with slap techniques a lot. I don't own a bass yet, I'm a guitarist and I play bass at local shops so I'm not a n00b when it comes to playing.

thanks a lot. any suggestions are welcome.

ilovenofrets likes this.
  2. DWBass

DWBass The Funkfather

I wouldn't pay $350 for an OLP Spector copy!! You can get a Spector Performer for that or around that!

3. vcat

vcat

Jun 2, 2004
    Charleston, SC
    For $350 you can get Spector Pro Q4 - at least some Guitar Centers are blowing them off at these prices. It is due to the arrival of the new Legend models. I'd say go for the real Spector instead of the copy. You can never go wrong with them. BTW don't forget that Sam Ash will match the price if you don't have any GC's within the reasonable distance. And yes, I bought one of these Spectors last week - they are lovely! :bassist:

VK

4. danshee

danshee Banned

May 28, 2004
    Chicago, Illinois
    Pass on the copy. I think they're a jolopy. I heard they play real sloppy. The action is real choppy. The pickups are real poppy. I think they're real croppy. :meh:

5. rx jr.

rx jr.

May 10, 2004
    Brooklyn
    nice rhyme :D

I checked the price again, and it's $280 for the metallic blue color, and $315 for a transparent finish. on ebay, they go for about $220, new.