Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

What do you think is the best bass to buy under $700?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Spaff, Apr 21, 2003.

1. Spaff

Spaff

Apr 21, 2003
    Cambridge UK
    Hi i'm a young bassist with a whole lotta passion for playing, can't get enough of it!!!!:bassist: I Like really jazzy, low end but i want the clarity and punch of Flea, i was wondering as this is the forum for like some of the most experienced bassists in the world if people could give me their opinion on what the best bass for me would be, i'm looking for something under $700 which i can treasure until i can scrape enough money together to get the basses that i dream of eg. stingray, Flea bass, Fender Jazz. Thanks guys

2. Mike

Mike

Sep 7, 2000
    Cali
    A preowned Peavey Cirrus can be found quite often in this price range. It's a whole lotta bass at any price. I've owned several boutique basses which often felt to me like nothing more than a few really nice pieces of wood slapped together with some really nice hardware and really nice electronics. Beyond that, there just wasn't much there. I played a Peavey Cirrus one day and was ruined for life. It's got boutique feel, craftsmanship and attention to detail like the best of them but, unlke some, still retains some character and personality of it's own. That seems to be a rare thing, IME.

Just my HO.

3. Spaff

Spaff

Apr 21, 2003
    Cambridge UK
    Cheers man, but i've seen the peavey's about they look nice and i'm sure definatly feel nice (never tried on) but I really want a bass with quite a bit of attitude, the cort Curbow takes may eye quite a bit.

4. Dude, go used and you can score either a Stingray or a Jazz right now. $700 is a bit tight for a Stingray (a recent one in good condition usually sells for 800-850), but you won't have any trouble finding a used MIA Jazz for that price.