Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

What do you think of this ad?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by Matthew Bryson, Mar 22, 2004.

1. Matthew Bryson

Matthew Bryson Guest

Jul 30, 2001
    I'm putting together something to hang on bulletin boards at music stores in the town I just moved to. It'll have the little fringed bottom edge with my number a bunch of times so that somebody can just tear one off and call... give it a read and tell me what you think. (should it say more or less or is it okay?) here it is:

Bass Player Available.

Twenty-nine year old bassist in search of a cover band to play with for fun, recreation, rehearsals, and gigs. I enjoy a wide variety of music, including: Blues, Rock, Country, Classic Rock, Heavy Metal, and Alternative Rock. I play four and five string electric bass. I’m a hard working amateur bassist with a pro attitude. I would prefer to join a working cover band, but if you are putting a new band together feel free to call. No originals please.

2. Bayou_Brawler

Bayou_Brawler The most hurtful thing ever realized

Oct 23, 2003
    Ann Arbor, MI
    looks good.....

3. Boplicity

Boplicity Supporting Member

Just a couple simple suggestions. I've read so many classified ads similar to this and notice they typically mention "Have transportation." That key factor is often mentioned in "Bassist Wanted" ads, so I assume that if you have transportation, that will up your ante with any interested bands. Transportation can be a major headache if there are band members who need to be transported to gigs and rehearsals.

I guess at twenty-nine you probably DO have transport, but that isn't necessarily so. Thus I would mention it in your ad.