Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

What do you think...?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Microbass, Jan 13, 2003.

1. Bruce Lindfield

Bruce Lindfield Unprofessional TalkBass Contributor Gold Supporting Member

I hate Trace Ellliot - very "rock" sound - even so, £240 sounds a lot already for a second-hand amp with no guarantees - I'm sure you could do better!!

I'm no technical expert, but playing a 300 watt amp through a cab/speaker that can only handle 100 watts sounds like a recipe for disaster to me?

But then I like as clean a sound as possible and would never buy anything wothout hearing it first anyway!

2. Bruce said.......

but playing a 300 watt amp through a cab/speaker that can only handle 100 watts sounds like a recipe for disaster to me?

Bruce is right.

The 2 cabs connected to the amp will be done in parallel = 4 Ohms impedance @ 200 watts for the pair. But, and it's a big but, each cab is still only capable of 100 Watts. If driven to it's useable limit, the amp will supply sufficient voltage swing to develop 300 Watts over 4 Ohms but that will exceed the rating of both cabs.

Bruce is right. Don't do it. IMHO you either need an amp that will drive 100 Watts into 4 Ohms to use both cabs, or another cab @ at least 300 Watts if you buy the TE.

I've no experience to say whether or not the TE is a good buy at that £.

John

3. Johnny BoomBoom

Johnny BoomBoom Supporting Member

Jun 8, 2001
    Glasgow, Scotland
    I guess I like the Trace sound for the same reason Bruce dislikes them! I love the sound.