1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

What does a "limiter" do?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by SirGrotius, Feb 16, 2008.

1. I recently got a used SWR Workingman 15" combo used for some basement jamming, and I have a couple "obvious" questions (I'm a newb):

I don't know the different between "preamp" and "master" volume. I just set them the same...what should I be doing?

Also, jamming at about 55% volume today (preamp and master both at 5/6), and when I'd really wail on some high notes I noticed a green light shot on for less than a second and it was called the limiter.

I'm assuming this is something that knocks out something considered too loud for the range. I'm worried that this means that I can't pump up the volume more so than 55%...i.e., the limiter is indicative of "too loud" to handle.

Thanks

2. mntngrown

mntngrown Supporting Member

Aug 18, 2007
    Santa Cruz Ca
    I'll give you a guess till the experts answer. My new power amp, which is only an amplifier for a separate source, typically a preamp, says in the manual to put a limiter between the preamp and the power amp so if the preamp signal is too hot it won't clip etc and do bad things to your speakers. I think if you turn down that preamp volume you mention and turn up the main volume it won't happen?

3. fdeck

fdeck Supporting Member Commercial User

Mar 20, 2004
    Madison WI
    HPF Technology LLC
    A limiter senses the onset of power amp clipping, and temporarily reduces the overall gain. If it is implemented well, then it is relatively unobtrusive, and lets you work closer to the full power of the amp without worrying about distortion.