1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

what does everyone think about six string basses?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by sixstringlovr, May 25, 2011.

1. sixstringlovr

sixstringlovr

May 23, 2011
    I have been playing bass for six years and have stuck almost entirely to six strings. I have played many four strings including $1500 music man basses top of the line fender jazz basses fretless basses etc and i just can't write the same or feel as comfortable on a four string. Am i being narrow minded?

2. SLaPiNFuNK

SLaPiNFuNK Commercial User

Jul 28, 2006
    LA California
    The Brains: FretNation.com
    My main basses are 6 strings... I can play 4 strings as well because I am used to uprights as well. But 5 strings, I feel like a string is missing...

So the majority of my basses are 6 and 4 strings. I do have a couple of 5 strings in the mix, but the main 5 is used for one specific thing...

3. Skabasskid

Skabasskid

Mar 6, 2011
    My motto - the more strings the merrier. =]

4. behndy

behndy Banned

Nov 1, 2008
    California
    i think.... they have more than 5 but less than 7 strings.

i prefer 6's, but that doesn't really mean anything because i know a LOT of players that just kill me skill wise that rock 4 or 5's. all preference homie.

5. Blackened Soul

Blackened Soul

May 13, 2011
    Have nothing against them, but I have never played one I really liked. I own one of those Les Paul shaped Danelectro bass sixes though, not that it is the same thing but anyway...:meh:

6. ProfGumby

ProfGumby

Jan 15, 2007
    Michigan's U.P.
    No, you're not narrow minded at all. I for one think 6 strings are 2 strings too many for me, and I really don't care for 5 strings either. It all depends on what the player is comfortable with and what the demands of what you play require....

7. SLaPiNFuNK

SLaPiNFuNK Commercial User

Jul 28, 2006