1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

What does it mean MIM, MIA,. MIJ, MIC, and MIK Fenders

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by speckledmind, Sep 22, 2008.

1. I’m new to the Bass world and not familiar with all the lingo, specially not with all the Fender Basses, so could you explain to me what these are exactly.

MIM and MIA fenders. MIJ, MIC, and MIK Fenders ?

Thanks,
    Denis

2. cbass717

cbass717

Jun 30, 2008
    MIM- made in mexico
    MIA- made in usa
    MIJ- made in japan

3. hey

hey

Jul 8, 2006
    Wisconsin
    MIC - Made in China
    MIK - Made in Korea

Though the ones cbass mentioned are much more common.

4. That simple lol
    Now I feel really stupid for not having figured that one out.
    I actually though you guys where referring to eras, styles and so on.
    Thanks.

5. distrot

distrot

Mar 26, 2007
    its called google, try it out some time

6. Thanks for the positive input :eyebrow:

After reading pretty much everything in the “ Sticky: NEWBIE LINKS--Updated--Please Read”, that’s the next place I tried, and it keeps referring to the same abbreviations, why do you think I asked.

7. santucci218

santucci218

Jan 26, 2007
    Pittsburgh
    Somebody actually made a post of all the abbreviations used on talkbass into a list for people to see, but i cant remember where it went to.

Anybody have a link?

8. Don't mind the occasional grumpy poster. I find it amusing that we have a forum where we can ask questions, and then people get flak for asking a question.

If people don't want to waste their time answering a question, let it go. No need for the negative energy.:rollno:

9. distrot

distrot

Mar 26, 2007
    so many people start pointless threads that could be solved by some simple surfing,

i'm sorry that I came off like a prick