1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

What does the AMP amplify?

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Protegent, Sep 25, 2018.

1. Protegent

Protegent

Sep 25, 2018
    Hello, I've recently tried out the dropped C tuning on my bass (I'm kinda new to bass, I know this sounds pathetic), and every single pluck the C string, the string hits the fretboard (or a fret) and makes a noise. Is this noise only acoustic, or can you hear it thru AMP? If you can not hear it, what is the point of slapping/poping?

2. You will definitely hear it through an amp. Only you can decide if that's a problem or not.

3. BrBss

BrBss Supporting Member

Jul 9, 2010
    Albuquerque NM
    You will be able to hear it through the amp. To drop the strings down that low, you will probably want to get thicker gauge strings to increase the tension so they won't be so floppy. This might also require widening the nut a little bit so that putting a larger string into the slot doesn't break it.

4. JACink

JACink

Mar 9, 2011
    Spain
    Just a couple of questions...

Did you change strings to tune to drop C?

Do you own an amp? Can you hear the noise through it?

Have you ever listened to, or watched a video of, someone playing slap and pop? Could you hear it?

(P.S: the answer to all of these questions should be yes ;) )

lz4005 likes this.
  5. Protegent

Protegent

Sep 25, 2018
    Thanks for all of your replies, the thing with strings leads me to another question, I bought a second hand bass with strings already in it, so I have no idea what they are and how old are they, is there any way to find out? (btw yea, I do have an AMP, but its a practice cheap one with only 3 meter cable, so Im not sure wheter it was acoustic or not)

6. Malcolm35

Malcolm35

Aug 7, 2018