1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

What effects?? I m a beginner

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by ComputerPhantom, Dec 9, 2006.

1. ComputerPhantom

ComputerPhantom

Nov 20, 2005
    Brazil
    Hi, I am a beginner and don't know too much about effects. I play Metal, Hard Rock, Funk, Jazz... and I am needing basic effects such as distortions, eq.... What do you suggest?? Thanks

(I play mainly Metal)

2. seamonkey

seamonkey

Aug 6, 2004
    Multi FX, like the Zoom B2 or Behringer V-amp are your best bet. You can try all the different effects. And Amp and Cabinet emulations with the V-amp.

If you're at all handy with a PC, and want to try different effects while practicing. Check into software like Ampeg SVX. It'll let you audition different Amps and Cabinets as well as effects. If you find a combination you like you can actually buy the real hardware that matches.

There are plenty of free VST plugins also.

3. Swimming Bird

Swimming Bird

Apr 18, 2006
    Wheaton MD
    I think you're going to have to be more specific for us to help. For example, do you want a fuzz, overdrive or distortion? They all have different applications and there are bunches of different styles of each. What I suggest is that you go to your local music store and ask to try out a bunch of different pedals. Have a budget in mind in case you find something you really like, but if you don't you'll at least have enough info to start figuring out what you like.

4. you dont need effects starting off, not effect hating here, but concentrate on your technique, its easy to get sloppy when all your boo boos are covered in distortion.