1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

What electric bass and amp to buy? ($1100 total for everything)?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by LemurBassist, Sep 18, 2008.

1. LemurBassist

LemurBassist

Jul 6, 2007
    I've been playing electric bass for 2 years now. I played Jazz, Blues, Latin, and some Rock, and now I'm getting into Metal and more Rock. I've only played a school bass and school amp up until now, but now I really want to have my own set. I have $1100 to spend on everything; I can go a little bit over, and certainly less. I don't want a really super complicated amp, but one thats good for lots of styles, especially jazz and rock. I want an amp that you can make sound all distorted and cool when you want to, and not so when you don't want it to. Thanks~
    P.S. I'm in highschool, if that helps :)

P.S.S. If its at guitar center, that would be best. ^^

2. snyderz

snyderz

Aug 20, 2000
    AZ mountains
    Sounds like you have a GC at your disposal. That means you have basses and amps aplenty to try out. Pick the top 3 basses and amps in your price range that you like. Then pick out the bass and amp in your price range that you like. Problem solved.

3. +1 For that much money you can get some very decent gear. Also check out consignment gear. You can get quite a boost from buying quality used stuff. Pick your bass by how it plays, sounds and feels - not the sticker (MIM, MIJ, MIK, MIA, etc). I would spend 50/50 or 40/60 on bass:amp. You mileage may vary.

4. Eilif

Eilif Holding it down in K-Town. Supporting Member

Oct 1, 2001
    Chicago
    I would recomend a used Lakland Skyline 55-01 for the bass. They are really well made, and their used price is pretty consistently 525-575. That said, you really need to go to GC, and play alot of basses to find one that suits you.