Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

What happenned to my amp?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Chug_A_Lug, Apr 4, 2001.

1. i got a new amp this summer, it's a crate, and i got my first bass as well. and about a month the strangest thing started happening... i was playing my bass and out of no where, the sound just went off... well, the amp was still on, but it kind of went quiet. i usually have the volume on 3 or 4. i live in the dorms and i don't want it getting too loud. but i couldn't understand why the sound got softer. i thought that maybe it was the cord. but i made sure it was plugged into the bass and the amp... then i made sure my bass was turned up and it was... then i made sure nothing had happened to the amp. eventually, the sound came back. but it worried me. then it happened a few days later. and it literally scares me b/c i'm new at basses and amps... my first of both and i'm not sure what could be wrong... i've really no clue! i talked to a friend and she said it could be the cord. but there isn't a buzz or anything, it just goes quiet. i even tried with a different cord and got the same result. i'll be taking the amp in anyway b/c it worries me. but does anyone have any suggestions?

2. Blackbird

Blackbird Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Mar 18, 2000
    California
    Welcome to TalkBass, Chug.

Very interesting question. Thank you for posting it in Miscellaneous. It is a way cool forum, I know)

This topic is more of an "amps" forum question, though. I'll let those guys formulate an answer.

Will C.:cool:

3. rickbass

rickbass Supporting Member