Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

What happens as a bass matures?

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by Doug Ring, Jul 14, 2004.

1. Hi folks, I've been reading this forum for a few weeks now since I bought my first double bass and wondered if I could pick some of the superior brains in here.

I've been playing BG for 30 years but as I've been drifting more towards playing acoustic blues and country, I've felt that bringing an amp along, however quietly I play it, is cheating, so I bought myself a new Chinese-made 3/4 gamba style carved bass. It's a spruce top, maple back and sides and the name inside is "Westbury". It arrived as just a body and I had it set up by the shop's luthier who's a jazzer, so he put an adjustable bridge and Spirocore Weich strings on it. I've had it maybe 3 months now and the sound is improving all the time.

My question is: what happens to the sound of a new bass as it matures? It seems to me that the note sustain with pizz playing is increasing, but not evenly across the strings. The D always seemed to project a little better than the others, and the E felt a bit weak at the start. I wondered about changing the E for something a bit heavier than the Weich string in a bid to get more power from it, but after 3 months, it seems to be getting louder (or maybe I'm just learning to hit it harder...).

Are there well-recognised changes in the sound that I'll be finding, or is it different for every new bass? Or will the sound that I'm hearing as a player be very different from what a listener hears?

All advice and opinions gratefully received!

2. matt macgown

matt macgown Guest

Dec 1, 2003
    Chattanooga, TN
    More often than not, the bass matures much faster than the bass player - who sometimes fails to at all. Shudder the thought.

3. Ed Fuqua

Ed Fuqua

Dec 13, 1999
    NYC