1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

What has your SIT string experience been like?

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by Spfairchild, Mar 7, 2013.

1. Spfairchild

Spfairchild Supporting Member

Oct 23, 2005
    Seattle
    Endorsing Artist: MTD Basses, Genzler Amplification, GHS Strings, Tsunami Cables, Sonic Nuance Electronics Contributing Reviewer: Bass Gear Magazine
    I am wondering what people have thought of SIT strings that they've tried, especially the Power Steel and Rock Brights in Stainless varieties. I'm particularly wondering about users' thoughts on set to set and string to string consistency, length of life, etc.

I've been using them for a few months now and have started to take note of an issue or two, but I do very much enjoy the strings I've purchased. Without going into detail just yet and possibly "leading the jury", I'm curious to know about others' experience.

So, what do you think?

2. mpdd

mpdd neoconceptualist

Mar 24, 2010
    LA
    generic nickel rounds stay in tune, are pretty flexible, lasted a long time, and have a softish e string

3. Adam Wright

Adam Wright Supporting Member

Jun 6, 2002
    Arlington,Tx
    GHS Strings
    decent strings, I like the Power Wounds a lot. Not my preferred string brand overall but I like them better than most and they are priced very reasonably.

4. mmbongo

mmbongo Dilly Dilly! Supporting Member

Aug 5, 2009
    Carolinas
    Agree with what has already been said. Their Power Wound nickels are among some of the brighter, punchier nickels I've tested.

Can't go wrong for the price, custom sets and singles available at www.bassstringsonline.com so there's not to much more to ask. Except...

...a .135 string. Their lack of anything over a .130 keeps me from being able to use them.

5. Spfairchild

Oct 23, 2005