Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

What Head would be best for me and my cabs?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by TheChariot, Jul 6, 2004.

1. TheChariot

TheChariot

Jul 6, 2004
    Boston, MA
    Greetings people. I'm happy to finally find a community of people that know what they are talking about!

Ok. Here's my story. If you wanna skip the next paragraph and get right to my problem, then go ahead. I REALLY need some advice, and I dont wanna scare anyone away with a huge post.

2 years ago, I was stricken with cancer (at the age of 15). At that point in my life... I had been playing bass and drums for 2 years... with about 5 years of school band on Trombone (woop-dee-friggon-doo). So... I went through 9 months of all the treatments (chemo, radiation, 2 surgeries) and I am happy to say that I have been in remission for about a year and 3 months, and am currently in the process of growing my hair back down to my shoulders

NOW... herein lies my predicimate. I was granted a WISH... thanks to the good people at the make-a-wish foundation. What did I get? You guessed it.... a BUTTLOAD of music equipment. Mixer, PA, drumset, Ernie Ball Musicman, Bass rig... the works. Now back then, I was in the hospital a lot and I wasnt able to shop around... plus I didnt know a lot about impedance and wattage and all that back in the day. HOWEVER... I have come to learn that the people at Guitar Center Kinda hooked me up with an awkward setup for my bass rig. Here's what they gave me:

Ampeg B2R head: 350W @ 4ohms... 4ohm minimum load
    Ampeg BXT410 cab: 4ohms... 1200W Peak
    Ampeg BXT115 cab: 4ohms... 600W Peak